So the Dalai Lama walks into a pizza shop…

… and he says, ‘Can you make me one with everything?

Vegan cheese is fairly accessible around here. The bad news it is Tofutti brand American Flavoured Slices. I mean they’re ok, but there’s only so much you can do with a individually wrapped portion of imitation processed cheese. There are places to pick up some Sheese or Cheezly, but not nearby. The revolution that was Daiya or Teese type pizza suitable cheese has bypassed here. Notzarella is seeking to enter the market here exchanging donations for blocks. Having sold a kidney, I jumped online and ordered a 1kg block.

Pros:

  • It tastes pretty freakin’ good
  • It melts to a gooey mess (although, see below)

Cons:

  • It is expensive (~$36 for 1kg delivered)
  • I found it took quite a while to melt, risking the base burning. I’m not sure, but it seemed to melt better at first (i.e., 2 weeks ago). As seen above, its starting to melt, but the crust is getting too brown. I spotted another notzarella post in the veganmofo feed, and that definitely looks melty the way mine did initially. I really think something odd is happening…

Regardless of it’s problems, it does make a pretty good pizza.  I definitely will be getting more, as I do like pizza.

4 Responses to So the Dalai Lama walks into a pizza shop…

  1. The pizza looks great! I am pained every time I see that guy try to be funny with the Dalai Lama though.

  2. I think the revolution was cheezly but I may be biased.

  3. Mo says:

    That pizza! Why do I always freaking forget you’re in Australia?

  4. Hey there. With the Notza, try larger shreds. Cutting it into shreds works better than most blenders. The closer to the head source the better, too. I’m working on meltability and have made some headway recently! Looks yum.

Leave a comment